What is my condition, the naked truth of me?

Yesterday at church, our pastor Crawford told us that in order to live a meaningful, authentic life, we must face the truth about ourselves. How often do we really spend time considering who we really are and not who we want others to see?  When was the last time I asked myself if others see the moral cosmetic of me OR the reality of me and my condition?

As I wrestle with the fact that throughout my life I have spent very little time considering who I am and why I only let people see the side of me I want them to, I have finally realized that I must come to a place of self-discovery and self-exposure.  Maybe it’s because I’ll be forty in a few short weeks, or maybe I’m just finally listening to what God has been trying to say to me all along.

He keeps reminding me that nothing in this life but my relationships; with Him, my family, and those I meet everyday are what really matters.  Am I really being authentic with the people I live with and those I meet?  Or has the work, the bills, and the stuff in my life become more important and the only thing I talk about?

The longing He has placed in me to let go of all the trappings and stuff of this life has a purpose.  He wants me to let go of things that don’t really matter.  If I give more value to other things (the stuff in my life) over Him, then I am hindered and cannot serve Him completely.  I do want to enjoy the things we have been blessed with, but if they become the reason I live and work and breathe then I have given them too much power in my life.  I will never truly be satisfied and my life will really have no meaning.

I don’t want to continue to follow the pattern of just moving from one day to the next and never really living for Him.  I don’t want my life to be empty of meaning.  So what is my condition?  I have been searching for that answer for over a year and it’s about time I figured it out!  My condition is my response to His mercy of not giving me the judgment I deserve, the incredible love He embraces me with everyday, the power He used to raise Christ from the dead, and the grace (which I don’t deserve) He gave me to save me.  And so my response is to take the gift I have been given. I will not refuse it.

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith – and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God – not by works, so that no one can boast.  For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Ephesians 2:8-10

So again, do you see my condition, the naked truth of me?

Are you willing to ask yourself the same question?  Just food for thought….

One thought on “What is my condition, the naked truth of me?”

Leave a Reply

