Friends…near and far

Friends are what make your life richer. There are two women in my life that I feel priviledged to call friends. I am a better person for knowing them and feel so blessed!

We were lucky this past October. We got to spend the day shopping together in Carmel-by-the-sea. The weather was perfect…slightly cool and sunny in spite of the fog that oftens fills the air. We were so busy wandering the streets filled with shops that we missed lunch completely.  Answering the growls of our stomachs, we found a small coffee shop on Ocean Avenue to continue our conversation. It felt so natural to share what was on our hearts…our hurts, our joys, even our trivial thoughts. Isn’t it interesting that all it takes for women to open up and share their hearts with each other is a warm cup of coffee and a pastry?

This is where where I vowed to myself and God to pray for them.

Although we do not always have time to sit down for a cup of coffee because of the miles between us and the busyness of life, I know that I can call them and pick up where we left off. These friends have reminded me to be true to myself, encouraging me to fertilize my dreams…one by sending me a journal to write to my heart’s content and the other by her phone calls to check up on me and offering to pray for me. My life would not be the same without them.

As women, we need companionship and someone to go to without judgement. “As iron sharpens iron, so one woman sharpens another.”  If you are without a friend, pray for God to send you one.  If you find yourself with one or two good friends, count yourself blessed and take the time to let them know how thankful you are for them.

Thank you ladies for all the joy you have brought into my life. I appreciate you both!

4 thoughts on “Friends…near and far”

    1. Thanks, Linda! I am determined to sit down for a cup of coffee with you sometime! I’ve decided it’s a new goal that I am writing down, so it is sure to happen. This is the week to make it happen!! Call me. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

